aboutsummaryrefslogtreecommitdiff
path: root/bin/ksh/CONTRIBUTORS
blob: d23fc8861ed2818f4aae19783da8fa6081eeb000 (plain)
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99
100
101
102
103
104
105
106
107
108
109
110
111
112
113
114
115
116
117
118
119
120
121
122
123
124
125
126
127
128
129
$OpenBSD: CONTRIBUTORS,v 1.10 2006/02/06 16:47:07 jmc Exp $

This is a partial history of this shell gleened from old change logs and
readmes (most of which are still in the misc directory) and the source
code.  Hopefully it is correct and no contributors have been left out
(file a bug report if you spot a problem :-)).

Release history:
    * Eric Gisin (egisin@math.uwaterloo.ca), created pdksh, using
      Charles Forsyth's public domain V7 shell as a base; also used parts
      of the BRL shell (written by Doug A Gwyn, Doug Kingston, Ron Natalie,
      Arnold Robbins, Lou Salkind, and others?, circa '87; the parts used in
      pdksh included getopts, test builtin, ulimit, tty setting/getting, emacs
      editing, and job control; the test builtin was based on code by Erik
      Baalbergen).
      '87..'89 ?
      Released versions: .. 3.2
    * John R MacMillan (@yonge.csri.toronto.edu:chance!john@sq.sq.com)
      takes over as maintainer
      dates?
      Released versions: 3.3 (?)
    * Simon J. Gerraty (sjg@zen.void.oz.au) takes over as maintainer
      Nov '91..July '94 ?
      Released versions: 4.0 .. 4.9
    * Michael Rendell (michael@cs.mun.ca) takes over as maintainer
      July, 1994
      Released versions: 5.0 .. 5.2

Major contributions:
    * John R MacMillan (@yonge.csri.toronto.edu:chance!john@sq.sq.com), ?:
      cleaned up configuration, many bug fixes (see misc/Changes.jrm).
    * Simon Gerraty, (sjg@zen.void.oz.au), Nov '91..?: much improved emacs mode
      ala at&t ksh, 386bsd port, sigaction routines for non-POSIX systems
      (see misc/ChangeLog.sjg and misc/ReadME.sjg).
    * Peter Collinson (pc@hillside.co.uk), July '92: added select, at&t ksh
      style history file, original csh-style {} globbing, BSD/386 port,
      misc bug fixes.
    * Larry Bouzane (larry@compusult.nf.ca), Mar '89..'93: re-wrote job control,
      added async job notification, added CDPATH and other cd fixes, misc bug
      fixes.
    * John Rochester (jr@cs.mun.ca), '87: wrote vi command line editor; various
      bug fixes/enhancements.
    * Jeff Sparkes (jsparkes@bnr.ca), Mar '89..Mar '90: added arrays,
      merged John Rochester's vi code into pdksh, misc bug fixes.
    * Michael Haardt (u31b3hs@POOL.Informatik.RWTH-Aachen.DE), Sept '94:
      organized man page, filled in many of its copious blank spots; added
      KSH ifdefs.
    * Dale DePriest (daled@cadence.com): ported to OS/2 (initially based on
      port of pdksh4.9 to OS/2 by Kai Rommel (rommel@ars.muc.de)); maintains
      OS/2 port; misc bug fixes.

Other contributors:
    * Piercarlo Grandi (pcg@aber.ac.uk), Dec '93: fixes for linux port
    * Neil Smithline (Neil.Smithline@eng.sun.com), Aug '92: emacs-style
      filename completion.
    * Mike Jetzer [mlj] (jetzer@studsys.mscs.mu.edu), ?;Nov '94: fixes for vi
      mode (see misc/Changes.mlj), added v to vi, fixes for history; fixed
      command redoing in vi; fixes to vi globbing.
    * Robert J Gibson: mailbox checking code that was adapted for pdksh by
      John R. MacMillan.
    * ? (guy@demon.co.uk), ?: promptlen() function.
    * J.T. Conklin (jtc@cygnus.com): POSIXized test builtin; miscellaneous
      fixes/enhancements.
    * Sean Hogan (sean@neweast.ca): fixes for ICS 3.0 Unix, found and helped
      fix numerous problems.
    * Gordan Larson (hoh@approve.se): fix to compile sans VI, ksh.1 typo.
    * Thomas Gellekum (thomas@ghpc8.ihf.rwth-aachen.de): fixes for Makefile
      typos, fixed CLK_TCK for FreeBSD, man page fixes.
    * Ed Ferguson (Ed.Ferguson@dseg.ti.com): fix to compile sans VI.
    * Brian Campbell (brianc@qnx.com): fixes to compile under QNX and
      to compile with dmake.
    * (guy@netapp.com), Oct '94: patch to use gmacs flag.
    * Andrew Moore (alm@netcom.com): reported many bugs, fixes.
    * William Bader (wbader@CSEE.Lehigh.Edu): fix to compile on SCO Unix
      (struct winsize).
    * Mike Long (mike.long@analog.com): makefile fix - use $manext, not 1.
    * Art Mills (aem@hpbs9162.bio.hp.com): bug fix for vi file completion in
      command mode.
    * Tory Bollinger (tboll@authstin.ibm.com): allow ~ in vi mode to take
      a count.
    * Frank Edwards (<crash@azhrei.EEC.COM>): added macros to vi (@char).
    * Fritz Heinrichmeyer (<Fritz.Heinrichmeyer@FernUni-Hagen.de>): fixes
      to allow compile under Linux 1.4.3.
    * Gabor Zahemszky (<zgabor@CoDe.hu>): SVR3_PGRP vs SYSV_PGRP, many
      bug reports and man page fixes.
    * Dave Kinchlea (<kinch@julian.uwo.ca>): DEFAULT_ENV patches.
    * Paul Borman (<prb@bsdi.com>): j_exit: send HUP, then CONT; HUP fg process.
    * DaviD W. Sanderson (<dws@ssec.wisc.edu>): patches to allow { .. } instead
      of in .. esac in case statements.
    * ? (<ra@rhi.hi.is>): partial patches to handle SIGWINCH for command line
      editing.
    * Jason Tyler (<jason@nc.bhpese.oz.au>): fixes for bugs in fc.
    * Stefan Dalibor (<Stefan.Dalibor@informatik.uni-erlangen.de>): fix for
      COLUMNS never being set in x_init().
    * Arnon Kanfi (<arnon@gilly.datatools.com>): fix for prompt.
    * Marc Olzheim (<marcolz@stack.nl>): patches to ifdef KSH the mail check
      code and aliases; enum patches for old K&R compilers; handle missing dup2.
    * Lars Hecking (<lhecking@nmrc.ucc.ie>): fixes so shell compiles as sh
      again.
    * Bill Kish (<kish@browncow.com>): added prompt delimiter hack for
      hidden characters (eg, escape codes).
    * Andrew S. Townley (<atownley@informix.com>): fixes for NeXT machines:
      get a controlling if one needed, use correct profile.
    * Eric J. Chet (<ejc@bazzle.com>): fix for core dump in . (quitenv() called
      too soon).
    * Greg A. Woods <woods@most.weird.com>: fix to make ^[_ in emacs work
      as in at&t ksh.
    * George Robbins <grr@shandakor.tharsis.com>: fix for sh mode to
      keep exec'd file descriptors open.
    * George White <gwhite@bodnext.bio.dfo.ca>: fix here-doc problem under OS/2
      (memory allocated incorrectly).
    * David E. Wexelblat <dwex@DataFocus.com>: fix to avoid memory overrun
      in aresize(); fix to not print un-named options.
    * Clifford Wolf (<clifford@clifford.at>): fix memory overrun in aresize();
      fixed sys_siglist[] problem.
    * Theo de Raadt (<deraadt@cvs.openbsd.org>): allow ". /dev/null".
    * Eric Youngdale (<ericy@datafocus.com>): flag field incorrectly changed
      in exec.c(flushcom).
    * Todd. C Miller (Todd C. Miller <Todd.Miller@courtesan.com>): fix
      for coredump in jobs.
    * Kevin Schoedel <schoedel@kw.igs.net>: fix for word location in file
      completion.
    * Martin Lucina <mato@kotelna.sk>: fix for argument parsing in exit command,
      fix for KSH_CHECK_H_TYPE.
    * Mark Funkenhauser <mark@interix.com>: added $LINENO support.
    * Corinna Vinschen <Corinna@Vinschen.de> and Steven Hein <ssh@sgi.com>:
      port to cyngin environment on win95/winnt.
    * Martin Dalecki <dalecki@cs.net.pl>: changes for 8 bit emacs mode.
    * Dave Hillman <daveh@gte.net>: patch for bug in test -nt.